About Us Holy Land Sites Holy Land Tours Christian Photos Community Travel Tips

Shelley / B'tayavon / The Seven Species

The Seven Species

16 October, 201216 October, 2012 0 comments B'tayavon B'tayavon

Deuteronomy 8:8 praises the land of Israel for being "a land with wheat and barley, vines and fig trees, pomegranates, olive oil and [date] honey." These agricultural products are known as the "seven species." On the Jewish holiday of Tu B'Shvat, the new year for trees, it is custom to eat the seven species. Tu B'Shvat usually falls around late January or early February.

The seven species are the Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Replica super foods of the Bible. No modern fad diet holds a candle to this ancient Deuteronomy menu. Packed with antioxidants, fiber, vitamins, and the monounsaturated fats, all of our diets could use a healthy injection of each of the Biblical super foods. For the next few months, B'tayavon will be rolling out different recipe options using one or more of the seven species. Stay tuned.

•Wheat (chitah)

•Barley (se'orah)

•Grapes (gefen)

•Figs (te'enah)

•Pomegranates (rimon)

•Olives or olive oil (zayit)

•Dates (tamar)

Shelley Neese is Vice President of The Jerusalem Connection. 

TagsTags: b'tayavon recipe species 


  • There are no comments yet

Search The Site.

Share This Page

Bookmark and Share


Posts: 23
Comments: 11
B'tayavon: A collection of recipes shared during many a Shabbat dinner in Israel.



21 recipe (21)
17 b'tayavon (17)
3 food (3)
1 pizza (1)
1 kosher (1)
1 appetizer (1)
1 species (1)
1 b'tyavon (1)
1 fruit (1)
1 hannukah (1)
1 support (1)
1 recipes (1)
1 salad (1)
1 holiday (1)
Search The Bible

Produced by KCS interactive boutique
Copyright © 2011 Travelujah.com